Last night, The Hubbs sat on the edge of our master bathroom tub humming the song “Basket Case” (Green Day – it’s a band, mother) while trying to fix our shower knob thingy with a pair of scissors.  I’m not sure what happened to the knob.  I noticed earlier that day that the knob seemed loose and then everything was cold.  AND I WAS IN THE SHOWER!!!! eck. 

I don’t think I would have known how to remove the knob in order to fix the problem.  How does he know how to do these things?  I probably would have hit the knob with a hammer out of frustration.  Then, I would miss the knob and knock a hole in the tile.  YAY!  So, this is why he does things around the house. 

What we had agreed he would NOT do is bake.

And this is why…..

Web Ready Cookies 1edit

Now. Please note that my counter is clean.  Thank you. The reason that these cookies are a problem is that they are FREAKING PERFECT. Bastard.

Here’s the issue: The Hubbs is really good at a lot of things like being a handyman, mechanic, computer guru and cook.  He cooks, ladies!  And well, I might add.  So, when I used wedding gift cards to purchase the KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer (in red) – the one that I appropriately coveted for months – I/we decided that baking would be my domain, my “thing.”  I imagined cakes and cookies and pies and tarts and then I imagined myself looking cute in an apron covered in flour holding a spoon covered in chocolate frosting.  And then, my 4 children (2 boys, 2 girls/ 2 with blond hair and 2 redheads) would come running into the kitchen followed by The Hubbs and we would all smile and hug and laugh while everyone gets flour on their neatly pressed shirts.  And then, flash forward to my last child (a son) graduating from medical school and I am there  holding his favorite pie and then we’re all there and we hug again (we like to hug, we’re huggy) and my son says to me, “Momma, you’re the best.” And then I let a single tear fall, because you know, I’m strong.

THE HUBBS HAS TAKEN ALL OF THAT AWAY FROM ME!!!! he baked.

Web Ready Cookies 2edit

Just look at them.

Web Ready Cookies 3

Even the bottoms are perfect.

Please note: I did not put this one back, for all you germy-phobes out there.  Swine flu and all going around.  I put it to good use :).

“I am one of those melodramatic fools.  Neurotic to the bone no doubt about it.”

-“Basket Case”, Green Day

