I think I may have sunburned part of my neck.  That’s what I get for putting sunscreen on the way normal people do.  I should have opted for the sunscreen dip instead.  All parts covered.  I ventured out of the house (shocking!) and went for an adventure.  I have a navigating system on my phone, so what’s the worry?  I have lived in the Raleigh/Durham area for two years and have not done much sight-seeing.  Why not today?

 

First, I went to Walmart before 7am to do some grocery shopping.  Indeed, I did miss the crowds, but apparently they do not stock the produce until after I leave.  They see me coming and produce carts go shuffling back behind closed doors. (+5 points for going early)

Then, I unpacked groceries and quickly got myself into my gym clothes making it to my Sculpting class in enough time to show everyone my underwear while stretching.  It was just the top, but who needs it? (-4 points for the underwear)

Sweaty and hungry I made my way home to have a quick lunch and change in to something cute because, after all, I was leaving my zip code.  This also required make-up.  And a necklace. (+ 2 points for cuteness)

I have to say that I was extremely proud of myself for knowing the general vicinity of my destination.  I even knew that I could skip the dreaded beltline and make my way over on a back road.  Some people don’t have the patience for back roads.  I don’t have patience for multi-car pile-ups or loopdy-loops that suck you in like a vortex.  I’ll have you know that I am aware of how to properly exit a traffic circle – just in case you were wondering. (+5 points for reading road signs)

I arrived at the JC Raulston Arboretum!  I was anticipating a dirt lot with a couple of shrubs planted willy-nilly.  Was I wrong!  The Department of Horticultural Science at NC State University runs the gardens.  Lovely.  L-O-V-E-L-Y. (-1 point for underestimating the Horticultural Dept.)

This is where you are going to get annoyed.  I took pictures.  When photographing the flowers/plants I tried my best to figure out which identification plate went with which flower/plant.  I was mostly successful.  In places where I couldn’t find or didn’t think “eeny-meeny-miny-moe” was appropriate, I made up my own names (see if you can guess which ones I made up. So fun!).   Also: I am no photographer.  I have a camera and I know how to push the shutter.  That’s about it. (-2 points for not mastering the art of photography-yet)

"African Sunset"

African Sunset

 

Crinum Lily

Crinum Lily

 

 

Gemini Hybrid Tea Rose

Gemini Hybrid Tea Rose

 

Lalalala Purple Bee Seat

Lalalala Purple Bee Seat

 

Preziosa Hybrid Hydrangea

Preziosa Hybrid Hydrangea

 

Restroom Hut

Restroom Hut

 

My Maid of Honor is a Whore Bouquet

My Maid of Honor is a Whore Bouquet

 

Hot Dogs Gone Bad w/bee

Hot Dogs Gone Bad w/bee

 

Random Statues (Note: Very cool to the face when laying in pool of sweat due to extreme heat.)

Random Statues (Note: Very cool to the face when lying in pool of sweat due to extreme heat.)

 

Angry Orange Wears Dark Pants

Angry Orange Wears Dark Pants

 

Really Long Hot Path Back to Car

Really Long Hot Path Back to Car

 

This is just a sampling of the photos I took today.  Do you know how long it takes to upload pictures on here?  I think I’ve lost the circulation in my feet sitting here this whole time.  (-4 points for not uploading pictures faster and for having dorky circulation)

Now I am down to 1 point, life points that is.  And, I should dock that last point for going on a 92° day.  I need a second shower.  Why did I put make-up on for this?

 

P.S.  My actual Maid of Honor rocked it. Oh – and is not a whore.

