Eee gads!  Where has this week gone?  Where has November gone?  It’s becoming that time of year when schedules get filled, days are rushed and I start calling The Hubbs “Destro” and vis versa because my brain can only take so many commercials involving turkeys and santa elves and big screen TVs and lots of plastic toy junk.  I can only make so many lists and read so many recipes and figure out so many other people’s schedules in order to make our own.  I can only eat so many helpings of dressing (stuffing=puke), so many holiday cookies and hear so many Christmas songs.  We can only drive so many miles and see so many people.  We can only do so much before our eyes bulge out of our heads, our limbs go numb, our hairs fall out and we start praying to Santa instead of God and we speak in little child voices that make Destro stare at us and think he’s getting a treat.  And, we’ll have to give him a treat because how could we not, especially when we’re making squeaking noises that sound somewhat like words?  And our eyes will blink in time with the on-off-on-off-on lights of the over-decorated and crooked Christmas tree.

On that note, I’ll leave you with these musical selections that please me:

Bon Iver, Skinny Love

Rogue Wave, Lake Michigan (this has clapping in it and we all know how much I love songs with clapping…don’t we?)

Band of Horses, The General Specific

Ida Maria, I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked

Arcade Fire, Keep The Car Running

Ray LaMontagne, Let It Be Me

Also for the record: I like songs with violins in them.  I think this has something to do with the 1986 movie An American Tail.

